Mochi + Waffles = Moffles

Moffles Mochi Waffles
Mochi, Japanese rice cakes can be toasted, microwaved, or boiled. During the past year or two, a new way to cook mochi has become very popular in Japan: grilling mochi on (or in???) a waffle iron! I first heard of this from Maki at Just Hungry and it’s great fun! See this post about moffles as well.

According to Sanyei Co., which came up with the moffle and also invented moffle makers for both business and home use, the product has been selling so well recently that there are hardly any left in stockYohei Yamasaki, a spokesman for Sanyei, said moffles started to become popular in December (2006) and January (2007) when the fare received media coverage introducing it as a unique, new type of food.
But the birth of the moffle goes back a lot further than this.
When Sanyei was carrying out a sales demonstration of a waffle iron in 1999, one observer commented, “It would be nice if we could toast mochi with it.”
Later on, the company tested mochi on a waffle iron, creating food people had never seen before, and received a trademark in 2000.

~from The Japan Times Online


I’ve never seen a “moffle maker” but I do have a small waffle iron to experiment with. Set the temperature to high, brush with butter (I didn’t because my iron is the only teflon coated utensil in my kitchen), place the mochi in the center, close the top, and gently press until the lid closes. Fancy panini makers with slide in waffle grids have a floating hinge that allows the top to rest flat on thicker food, but no worries, even my inexpensive waffle iron worked fine: the mochi melts and expands until the top of the waffle iron rests flat of its own accord.

Click on a thumbnail below to see a larger picture:
Moffles Mochi WafflesMoffles Mochi WafflesMoffles Mochi Waffles

Above is my first attempt to make a cheese filled moffle. I cut the mochi in half to make it thinner, but one side was thicker than the other. I lowered the top part of the waffle iron and the mochi softened and puffed up. I put some cheese on one piece and covered it with the other. Note, any cheese you like would be fine!

Moffles Mochi WafflesMoffles Mochi WafflesMoffles Mochi Waffles

Again, I lowered the top of the waffle iron and heated the mochi sandwich. It puffed up even more. I think I should have let the mochi cook a bit longer before adding the cheese because there would have been room for more cheese to actually fill the whole sandwich. This was the first moffle, and I didn’t have the temperature hot enough, so I flipped the mochi to grill up the other side.

Moffles Mochi WafflesMoffles Mochi WafflesMoffles Mochi Waffles

For moffle II, I cut the mochi in half and laid the two pieces close together so they melted into one.  Once the mochi had cooked, I grated some cheese and sprinkled it over the top. I just closed the waffle iron long enough for the cheese to melt.  It did stick a bit to the top when I lifted the top and I had to quickly wipe away the cheese grease before it ran down into the hinge. Perhaps not the best way to make a cheese moffle!

Moffles Mochi Waffles

I added a little soy sauce and had a nice snack.

Moffles Mochi Waffles

Moffles ideas:
the savory: mentaiko and cheese, or ham and mustard, tuna and capers…
the sweet: plain but topped with matcha ice cream and grated chocolate, cherry preserves and slivered almonds…

⇐ Previous Post Next Post ⇒
Mochi! Raccoon Miso Soup!
8 thoughts on “Mochi + Waffles = Moffles

  1. That’s very clever and looks mighty tasty.

    I don’t see any reason why someone couldn’t use a contact grill (like a Foreman, but a brand that won’t send a flame shooting out of the wall when you unplug it. *cough* Those things still don’t have grounded plugs.). They have floating, hinged lids to accomodate varying thicknesses without smashing the food.

    • Fewer calories than waffles, too: no eggs and butter in the batter!

      Actually I was trying to say that one of those would work very well—or better— though my cheap little waffle maker worked ok. I’ll edit to make it more clear. You had a flaming Foreman incident?

      • I sure did. This was more than 10 years ago when they were newish. It started with sparks and it took 1 month to get someone from customer service – the worst! When I did, she told me the sparks were normal. (!) When a flame 3 or 4″ long shot out of the wall, I clipped the cord and threw it out.

        Nearly anything is fewer calories than waffles. :D

  2. My daughter puts butter on her waffles!!

    The old waffle iron we bought for $5 at the Kiwanis thrift store 20 + years ago did that recently. Sparked out fire – after my husband had mixed up some waffle batter for a special breakfast. He bought this new one. It does not have the black and grey/white sort of fabric cord.

    RIGHT! sparks are NOT normal!!! I wired our kitchen, and it’s a miracle I did not kill myself doing it. May be I was smarter back then? Or luckier. But no sparks!

    • My daughter puts butter on her waffles!!

      Serious, genuine, heartfelt question…doesn’t everyone? I really don’t anyone who doesn’t. Maybe it’s an east coast thing and your daughter is channeling us.

      I am mighty impressed that you wired the kitchen. I know zilch about electricity, which is good because if I knew enough to be dangerous I would be. I have the highest respect for two things in this world: electricity and the ocean.

Leave a Reply

