Don’t take an extra trip

Today marks 3 years since I broke my ankle. Lots of people break their ankles, but it changed my life.

My husband and I were visiting our daughter in Madrid. Her apartment had a very tiny elevator. For whatever reason, I was not able to properly close the doors when I got off, and my daughter became angry because if the doors were not closed it would be inoperable for anyone else. The lights in the hallway turned off automatically—an energy saving technique in Europe—as I stepped back to get out of her way. I hadn’t noticed the [dark] stairwell behind me.…

img2_49781

The enormously expensive jewelry in my bones is only apparent if you notice the now faded scars, but the months I spent with various walking aids and physical therapy made me realize how fragile we are. I resigned from major responsibility at my job. I can no longer run, or skip. That makes me feel less than competent. But I’m no longer obsessed with work, and I’ve started learning about Japanese cooking, photography, and blogging. Mr. Tess is encouraging me to do the pt exercises and if I took his advise, well…

Miso Ramen

I’m making progress on clearing out the freezer, and finding some miso ramen in there was great.

⇐ Previous Post
Next Post ⇒
Second Time Around Scrolling Along
4 thoughts on “Don’t take an extra trip

  1. Oh, Tess, I had no idea. We (or I, at least) tend to take for granted that broken bones will heal and we just get on with things. It doesn’t always work out that way.

    I’m glad you’ve found new outlets and I will not tell you everything has a reason, everything happens for the best. Frankly, I don’t believe that. You have made a horrid situation better and I commend you for that.

    If I don’t “see” you again before then, Happy Pesach to you and yours.

    • Yes, Happy Pesach!

      I’m thinking to take this post down. It did change my life, though. It’s too hard to say what I mean.
      I’m older than most bloggers, and the break was bad, plus other problems developing during physical therapy. But that is not what I really want to say about how fragile life is. And because it’s so fragile, it is special. That sounds so trite.

      Anyway, thanks for responding.

  2. Your blog is wonderful! Could you please tell me how to make a scrolling post on the frontpage of your site? Does it require any plug-in or special codes modification? Thanks a lot!

    Kaka

Leave a Reply

