Toshikoshi Soba Noodles, Duck!

Tuesday, 1 January 2008
Lunch
Hot Soba with Duck and Long Onion, page 322
Kamonanban Soba

The recipe is here!

Yoi otoshiwo! (Have a nice year-passing!) only a little late

for New Year’s Eve.

Kamonanban Soba

We were planning to eat this at midnight as the year changed. On New Year’s Eve in Japan, people traditionally eat toshikoshi soba noodles. “Toshikoshi” means end of the old year crossing to the new year. Eating noodles on New Year’s will bring longevity, a life as long as noodles. We fell asleep. Guess we had an exciting holiday. So we ate our lucky noodles at 12 noon instead of 12 midnight.

toshikoshi soba noodlestoshikoshi soba noodlesI removed the skin from a duck breast and melted some of its fat in a frying pan. Then I put 1/4 inch thick slices of the breasts with slices of negi (long onion) into the pan, covered and cooked them for a few minutes. I added a splash of sake and heated it for a couple more minutes. Meanwhile, I heated the broth made with dashi, sugar, salt, shoyu; and boiled the soba. I’m wondering if Japanese people like their noodles very soft? I never cook them as long as the package directions say? I rinsed the noodles under cold water to get rid of the surface starch. I briefly warmed the noodles in the broth and served them with the duck and some watercress. Shichimi togarashi (seven-spice powder) is an excellent condiment.

Hot Soba with Duck and Long Onion

I remember my brothers hunting ducks, and sometimes those ducks tasted really awful. Fishy. I used to think I did not like duck, but duck tastes like chicken flavored with beef. MMMM

⇐ Previous Post Next Post ⇒
Dinner in Snow Duck Dumplings
One thought on “Toshikoshi Soba Noodles, Duck!

  1. A Happy NEW YEAR!
    Thank you for comment to my blog.
    So this year, please visit my blog too.
    I’m amazed that you had Soba on New Year’s Eve.  
    Last year we went to skiing. So we couldn’t eat Soba with Tempura.
    The twelve zodiac singn is mouse this year. And that post was drawn by my older son…

Leave a Reply

