Japanese Braised Beef, Tess’s Style

Braised Beef in Japanese Style, page 466Gyuniku no Wafu-ni3 January, 2008Wednesday night, I started a recipe that I’d made back in April. I remember that I liked it a lot. It’s so cold now that the snow crunches when you walk on it and a braise is warm and comforting.This is a rather fussy recipe which generates some extra dishes, and the stew needs attention rather than my usual style of throwing everything into the pot to cook.

frying sweet potato

Potatoes and sweet potatoes are deep-fried separately and set aside. Deep frying is scary for me, but I’ve found that using a wok makes it easier. I added a little of that oil to a large pot, then browned the steak pieces, and set aside. Onions, carrots, and daikon are then stir-fried in the pot and reserved. My lovely red carrots lost some color. I returned the meat to the pan, added sake and cold water to cover, put a lid on it, then it was supposed to cook for 40 minutes. I don’t know what happened, but I suddenly felt sick. I laid down—thanks to Mr. T. for putting it into the fridge! I was asleep!Mr. Tess made a soba omelette. He mixed eggs with leftover noodles and fried the “pancake” with a burger on the side. I missed out, but he said it was good. Though the plans went awry, we discovered a new recipe.Thursday, I felt not-so-great, but well enough to go to work (ha!). The cooked vegetables held up fine in the fridge. The greens (which I’d planned to use instead of broccoli), however, were wilted and smelled bad, so I subbed cauliflower, but green color would have been prettier. The meat in broth was fine, with surprisingly little fat on top, so I heated it up and started the rice and miso soup. When it was hot, I added the cooked vegetables to simmer for 10 minutes. I added sugar and simmered 5 minutes, then shoyu and simmered 10 minutes. Cook the cauliflower separately in boiling water for 1 minute and drain. Add cauliflower and cook for 2 minutes in the stew. Add grated ginger and sansho pepper, check seasoning. Reduce heat to low. Finally add potato starch mixed with water to thicken the broth. See what I mean about fussy?Somehow, the rice and miso soup were finished at same time so dinner was ready. It was worth the fussing, and it made me feel much better.

Japanese Braised Beef

Ingredients:1 medium potato, cut in chunks (rangiri-style)1 medium Japanese sweet potato, cut in chunks (rangiri-style)1/2 cup vegetable oil for frying1 1/2 pounds boneless beef shoulder, cubed (I used a rib steak)1 large onion, (I sliced it roughly)1 large carrot, cut rangiri-style1 tsp. salt1 cup sake1 1/2 TBS. sugar1/4 cup soy sauce (shoyu)1/2 head broccoli (I used cauliflower)2 tsp. grated ginger2 TBS potato starch dissolved in cold water

⇐ Previous Post Next Post ⇒
Duck Dumplings A Simple Plate of Pasta
One thought on “Japanese Braised Beef, Tess’s Style

  1. Pingback: Lamb Stew, Japanese Style « Tess’s Japanese Kitchen

Leave a Reply

