Can I Learn Japanese Cooking?

Happy Pesach!
Thirty-one years, I’ve been married, come June. And we have celebrated as many Passovers together. It’s hard to explain how all those dinners with all the family and friends have blended in memory into one holiday.

Passover is not a holiday I grew up with. There are no nostalgic childhood memories of the seder for me. I think of Thanksgiving and the smell of turkey roasting, making turkey pictures by tracing my hand and adding feathers and beak (and that gobbly thing) with crayons. I remember waiting for Santa Claus, hoping for water colors so my pictures would have “good” smooth colors like in books (not scratchy crayon colors), and how peaceful the colored lights look on a tree inside the house. Remember watching fireworks on the Fourth of July while drinking root beer and sitting on top of the car at the A&W drive-in on US-2! And being piffed at the parents who thought Halloween meant only going to the relatives’ houses for “trick or treat” where we got popcorn balls or apples—then finally at age 14 I went out with friends until 11 p.m. dressed as a geisha to collect treats at the “Go-Go Club.” That was my last Halloween. All fond memories.

Now it’s been thirty-one years of making a sedar, and because it’s a two for one, also going to seders, and Passover has become a holiday with many memories.

Some seders stand out clearly and happily, while others blend pleasantly to a sort of ideal season to anticipate. Last year, my husband at age 56 met his “new” twin brothers. It was a very happy and exciting seder. This year, Aunt H. is going to undergo chemo for breast cancer and Uncle B. was hospitalized. Also, my mother died in February.

Even after thirty-one years, I still make mistakes. Mr. Tess printed out this because I still make mistakes.
“Baw rukh ah tah Adaonai Eloheynu melekh ha ohlahm asher keedeeshahanu be mitz voh-tahv veetzeevahnoo leehahdleek nerh shel yom tov.”

So what hope do I have of making and understanding Japanese food. or really understanding Japanese culture? I have never even been to Japan!

Well, it’s still an adventure.

⇐ Previous Post Next Post ⇒
Baby Bamboo Shoots: Takenoko Ramen Stock
6 thoughts on “Can I Learn Japanese Cooking?

  1. Hi Tess, I am very glad that you stopped by Kitchen Retro –

    I love cooking Japanese food at home (am not that good at it yet) and all things Japanese, so your blog is right up my culinary alley.

    What gorgeous photos you have got! I am about to post my Retro Recipe Challenge post and oh dear, what a dreadful photo, but it’s the best I can do…I can scan old ads, but not take photos! :)

  2. Hi Tess

    Congratulations! I can’t believe you’ve never been to Japan. Are you planning to go, perhaps to do some ‘research’ for your ongoing project? You would really, really love it!

  3. Hi Lidian, If I were to start {another collection} it would be old cookbooks and advertisements, but reading your blog keeps my house neater. Your picture of the blueberry ice reminds me of the “Blue Willow” child-sized set of dishes I had when I was a kid. Wonder whatever happened to it…

  4. Hi Helen,
    No, I’ve never been to Japan. I would really love to go. Maybe in the fall? But my daughter is living in Spain, and it would be nice to go there again. It’s interesting to visit a place where someone knows about the points of interest. If husband retires we’ll have more time to travel.

Leave a Reply

