Sesame Noodle Sauce

Gomadare

Mr. Tess is out of town for a few weeks. I’m making an effort to cook for just myself, rather than noshing or skipping meals. Here is a simplified version of the sesame sauce for noodles I’ve made in the past: I made a smaller recipe so I won’t be eating it for days and days, and I didn’t grind my own sesame seeds, added some spiciness because I was feeling hot (it was 85°F !!! —last week I had to scrape ice off the windsheild), and garnished the noodles with asparagus so this dish would be a complete meal and not a snack.

Ginger-Sesame Sauce for Noodles

Sesame Dipping Sauce
Gomadare
Ginger-Sesame Sauce for Noodlessimplified from the recipe on page 298
serves 2, one for dinner and one for lunch
page 327

  • 2 Tablespoons shoyu
  • 2 Tablespoons mirin
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/4 cup katsuobushi (bonito flakes)
  • 1/2 cup sesame paste
  • 1 Tablespoon peeled and finely grated ginger
  • 1/2 Tablespoon toban jiang (chile-bean sauce Youki brand)
  • noodles for 2 people—udon, soba, somen
  • 1 green onion, thinly sliced
  • 6 spears asparagus, cut into 1-inch lengths and blanched

In a small saucepan combine shoyu, mirin and water. Bring the mixture to a boil over high heat; reduce the heat to low. Add the katsoubushi, and as soon as the mixture comes to a boil remove from heat. Let the pan stand for 2 minutes.
Strain through a cloth and discard the bonito flakes.
In a bowl, stir the sesame paste with the toban jiang, and add, one spoonful at a time, half of the soy sauce-mirin mixture. Mix until smooth. Add the remaining broth and the ginger. Stir well. Cover and refrigerate.
Cook, drain, and rinse your noodles. Toss noodles with the sauce. Garnish with green onions and asparagus.

⇐ Previous Post Next Post ⇒
Happy Birthday Onigiri, Omusubi, or Nigiri-meshi
4 thoughts on “Sesame Noodle Sauce

  1. I have to put mirin and bonito flakes on the shopping list. I love sesame noodles and often make a cold version that tastes just like the ones at my favorite Chinese joint in NY. This will be a wonderful change of pace.

  2. I hope you like this then. ≥^,^≤
    If you go back to the original recipe post, you’ll see that the sauce was not mixed with the noodles, and I think that might be a better way to serve it—small coils of noodles on the plate with sauce on top. This way, the noodles are all tangled up and are harder to eat with chopsticks. Or even with a fork.

  3. You gave me an idea. I have to start looking for Japanese food supply stores here in Montreal. I love noodles. Are udon noodles Japanese or Korean?
    sotsil

Leave a Reply

