Summer Vegetables and Miso in a Wok

≥^,^≤

veg-miso-stirfry_6229

≥^,^≤
≥^,^≤

This recipe is a variation of Eggplant and Miso in a Wok, which is a popular home-style summer dish in Japan. The sauce in that version is flavored with sesame oil and ginger. Here the sauce is  sweet-salty and spicy—most enjoyable.

≥^,^≤
veg-miso-stirfry_6172Summer Vegetables and Miso in a Wok
Natsuyasai no Mamemiso Itame
serves 2 as a light meal
page 244
Sauce:
1 Tablespoon mamemiso
(soybean miso)
2 Tablespoons sake
(rice wine)
1 teaspoon toban jiang
(Japanese chile-bean sauce)
1 teaspoon komezu
(rice vinegar)
1 Tablespoon honey
In a cup, combine the miso, sake, shoyu, chile-bean sauce, komezu, and honey. Blend them into a smooth paste.
The Vegetables:
1 small-medium green zucchini
(3 ½ ounces)
1 small-medium yellow summer squash
(3 ½ ounces)
1 ½ cups broccoli flowerets
(3 ½ ounces)
1 large red bell pepper
(3 ½ ounces)
1 medium carrot
a pot of boiling salted water
Cut the zucchini and summer squash rangiri-style into 1 ¼-inch pieces.
Cut the red pepper into strips.
Slice the carrot into ¼-inch circles.
Parboil these vegetables for 30 seconds. Drain, and spread them on a cookie sheet lined with a kitchen towel. Dry well.
Stir-frying the vegetables:
2 cloves of garlic, minced
5 ounces cabbage leaves
(about 2 large outer leaves)
3 Tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon tamari
2 teaspoons potato starch
(or cornstarch), mixed with
1 Tablespoon water
Cut the cabbage leaves into 1-inch wide strips.
In a wok, heat the vegetable oil. Add the garlic, and cook it over low heat, stirring, for 20 seconds. Increase the heat to high, add the cabbage, and cook for 30 seconds, stirring. Add the parboiled vegetables, and cook for 1 to 2 minutes, stirring.
Add the miso sauce to the wok, and toss the vegetables with the sauce. Add the tamari, and give seveal large stirs. Reduce the hat to low, add the potato starch water, and cook until the sauce thickens.
Serve the vegetables hot, with plain white or brown rice.

. veg-miso-stirfry_6206veg-miso-stirfry_6216veg-miso-stirfry_6221
Notes:
Mr. Tess bought some Michigan-grown navy beans. He cooked them in a crockpot with kombu, dried shiitake, onions, and herbs. This was a Japanese style rice and beans dinner.
me_6179
I’m a red-head again!
It’s almost my natural color (perhaps I overdid the streaks a tad) and it’s allowed me to feel better about myself.
~~ almost as effective as the magic mood pills ~~
I almost match my avatar.
I can almost look forward to my birthday.
≥^⇓^≤

.

⇐ Previous Post Next Post ⇒
Tori no Tsukune: Yakitori Meatballs Steamed Ginger-Flavored Snapper
3 thoughts on “Summer Vegetables and Miso in a Wok

  1. You are so cool!
    I want to be like you.
    “I can almost look forward to my birthday.”
    For me I can’t look forward to my birthday….

    • “For me I can’t look forward to my birthday….”
      Oh, Lucy! You are too young to be sad for your birthday.

      (I don’t know how old you are, but you are too lovely and kind for sadness.)

      “You are so cool!
      I want to be like you.”
      No! I am not cool.
      I am not very happy.
      I have been depressed for many months. I have been pretending to be happy.

      I went to my doctor on the anniversary of my mother’s death (February), and she gave me some medication to help with the sadness. But I did not take the pills.

      But now I have begun to use the medication from my doctor. I hope it will help.
      Maybe it is almost helping.

      I want to look forward to my birthday.

      I wish I could speak Japanese!

Leave a Reply

