Buddha’s Hand

https://1tess.wordpress.com

an ood palm down
palm up flower


I used to live in a small university town in the middle of the U.S. Students came to study from all over the world. Even so, the town remained tied to its farming roots. There was one Chinese restaurant, a Greek restaurant which served gyros, and one store which sold “world foods” in the form of Knorr mixes and canned goods.
I live in the same town today, but now I can buy something as exotic as the citron pictured above in my regular Michigan based grocery store!

“In Japan the “bushukan,” as the Buddha’s Hand citron is called, is a popular gift at New Year’s, for it is believed to bestow good fortune on a household. The Japanese buy the fruit at decorative ornament shops, and place it on top of specially pounded rice cakes, or use it in lieu of flowers in the home’s sacred tokonoma alcove.”
Elizabeth Andoh
7 thoughts on “Buddha’s Hand

  1. Your post reminds me of driving to Ypsi to eat at the Chinese restaurant there on Washtenaw with my Chinese boyfriend because it was “authentic”. That’s when and where I learned to eat with chopsticks. AA has certainly changed now when I visit from Washington, DC I am able to find all the ethnic food that I can’t find here there. Happy New Year Tess.

    • Happy 2010 Susan
      I remember Leo Ping’s in Ann Arbor and Old China in Ypsi. Both served authentic egg fu young. LOL
      The place has certainly changed.
      Now there is a Chinese restaurant in every neighborhood. And there there are Korean, Thai, Japanese, Vietnamese, Ethiopian, German, Italian, Indian, Lebanese, Caldean, Mexican, micro-breweries, the Zingerman empire, two Whole Foods, a Trader Joe, not to mention all the smaller specialty grocery stores…

  2. Pingback: Ozoni: Happy New Year 2010 « Tess's Japanese Kitchen

  3. We just made infused vodka with our Buddha’s hand that we purchased at Meijer! It’s so good!!

    • I’ll bet it is!!
      Rat rat tat: I’d meant to do that, but work and stuff got in the way and mine just went bad…
      Have a toast for me and meijers!
      T

Leave a Reply

