Frozen Gyoza: Ready-to-eat Japanese food

`*•.¸¸¸¸.•*´¯`¥´¯`*•.¸¸¸¸.•*´¯`¥´¯`*•.¸¸¸¸.•*´¯`¥´¯`*•.¸¸¸¸.•*´¯`¥´¯`*•.¸¸¸¸.•*´

https://1tess.wordpress.com

Ah winter with its short dark days overcast and overwhelmed with snow. It’s a time when the bears’ adaptation to this season makes sense, a time to sleep until green returns to the world. That is Usula Minor in the picture; she’s not happy to have her little bear’s sleep disturbed. (She’s small so we call her Sula. It’s a good thing that I didn’t know the Greek word for ‘bear’ because I can’t image calling “Arktos! Arktos!” out the back door.) The bear (‘Nooke’) is the totem (pronounced doodem) of the largest clan of the Ojibwe (Anishinabe) people. bear does not starve in winter.

No, we are not yet eating berries to stave off starvation! But real life has distracted me from home cooking—you know: money job, family,health, job, stress… J. has been cooking some great meals. But sometimes it’s nice to pick something up on the way home from work and just eat. I’ll make a few posts about ready (or almost ready) Japanese meals when no one wants to cook!

First up, I discovered that a package of frozen gyoza from the Korean store on the corner makes a very nice meal without a lot of dirty dishes!

Lots of choices, too: pork, vegetarian, seafood…

I simply boiled, drained, tossed with a little sesame oil,
and we ate them with a very simple:

dipping sauce:

3 Tablespoons soy sauce
1 ½ Tablespoons rice vinegar

Check out this description of how to make a pot-sticker hot-pot with rolled cabbage and vegetables.
If you have time, try making handmade gyoza wrappers with fillings of pork, shrimp, or crab.
For pictures of pleating the gyoza look at this post.
Here is a recipe for gyoza filled with ground pork, wakame, and cabbage.
To see how to fry the gyoza look at the pictures in this post.
Or make “Jewish” gyoza: kreplach.! with this recipe.
What could be more delicious than lobster gyoza?

4 thoughts on “Frozen Gyoza: Ready-to-eat Japanese food

  1. Welcome to Spring Northern hemisphere bears! Your tummys must be collectively rumbling and what better way to shuck off winter than with pot stickers! Yum! Funny – we buy pot stickers from the Korean grocery too – I love the kimchi ones best! I’m still in my pyjamas but now I’ve read this post I’m on a mission to find Fuyu It being officially Autumn here now. Once again you are an inspiration Tess.

  2. Oh, you are such a a sweetie!

    I have looked at the kimchi gyoza @ the Korean store, but have hesitated because I’ve become so acclimated to the much milder Japanese range of spiciness. I really think I’d like them, though: courage to try them next time!!!

    Yikes, it can’t be Autumn there yet? The equinox is not for a few weeks or so yet! And it sure is not even close to spring here with inches of snow yet to melt.

    Do you have a blog? I don’t see a link to one, but you write so eloquently I would think you might have a blog!

  3. Dear Tess,
    do try the kimchi potstickers – they’re not as spicy as you might think – well not in a tear jerking, hair curling sort of way and I’m a bit of a chilli sook if truth be told.

    And well you are right about the equinox! I suppose I was ticking off calendar months and thinking of Easter being Autumn here – we usually go camping then and its still warm enough for one last swim. But Easter is early this year, so I guess my mind was racing ahead…I did find some fuyu though and I’m dying to try the salad now.

    Love to read about the bear berries, Lewis and Clark and Shakespeare all in one post! Skipping back a few conversations when we spoke about Table Butlers – have you had a look at the Iris Handverk site? They make all kinds of beautiful brushes including a small table set. I’m so glad, thanks to you to I now know the correct terminology. I’m looking for some way to throw the words into casual conversation now.

    As to writing projects – I don’t have a blog – but I do write other things and although I have a great laptop I still like to bite on a trusty HB.

    • I will try the kimchi potstickers! I did like the kimchi udon last December:
      ( https://1tess.wordpress.com/2009/12/30/kimchi-udon/ ) ;-) But I got that kimchi from a Japanese store, and some of the kimchi at the Korean store is so spicy. I think they keep it in the refrigerator because it would be too hot to handle otherwise! (just joking)

      It’s funny to think that Easter is time for one last swim! We spent Christmas in Florida a few years ago and it was so strange to go swimming that it was hard to believe it was Christmas!

Leave a Reply

