Curry Udon

https://1tess.wordpress.com

Having made lots of curry means having lots of curry left, all according to plan. Japanese curry is essentially a stew flavored with Japanese curry powder (turmeric, coriander, and cumin; hot spices are black pepper and cayenne; perhaps a hint of cinnamon and fennel), so it can be made as a meal with time-saving options. If you don’t add potatoes (which will become mushy), you can freeze it so you have a delicious meal, ready as fast as your microwave. And it’s the very best way to have curry udon! Bringing two of my favorite foods together in a meal that is quick to prepare is an opportunity I can’t resist.
I’ve been expressing my creativity by making a sort of shoji screen for the huge window in the living room—a necessity because without some cover we are on a lighted stage for all the neighbors to watch at night, and a pleasure because when it’s finished we can enjoy the mature trees, garden, and patterns of sun and shadow on the screen. There will be 12 panels, with various opaque and transparent sections, which can slide into position according to desire.

Curry Udon
about 2 servings

  • 2 cups dashi
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon shoyu
  • 1 ½ cups leftover home-made curry
  • 2 small potatoes
  • 1 large carrot
  • 2 bundles of udon, about 6 ounces (170 grams)
  • 2 pots of boiling water
  • 3 green onions, sliced thinly

Cut the potatoes into ½-inch pieces.

Rangiri cut (disordered cut) the carrot:
This knife technique is applied to cylindrical vegetables such as carrot, gobo (burdock), lotus root, cucumber, and small eggplants which will be used in simmered dishes.
To make a rangiri cut, hold the knife diagonally to the vegetable, and keeping the angle fixed, rotate the vegetable a quarter turn before making each cut. Each piece of vegetable will have a large surface area to facilitate quick even cooking.

In a sauce pan, combine the dashi, sugar, salt, soy sauce, leftover curry, potatoes, and carrot. Bring to a simmer and cook for about ten minutes, until the vegetables are done.
While the curry simmers, add the udon to one pot of boiling water, and cook according to package directions. Drain, and wash in cold water until the noodles are no longer starchy.
To serve, dip the udon in the second pot of hot water to warm the noodles. Arrange them in two bowls, and top with the curry broth. Garnish with the green onions.


a link to my most recent post-recipe for homemade curry


a different brand of udon than I’ve used before: organic


carrots cut using the rangiri technique

a link to another post with information about Japanese curry

another link, with more information about Japanese curry
4 thoughts on “Curry Udon

  1. Our restaurant serves curry udon–it’s one of my favorite dishes! I love your idea for huge slices of negi in it. We have lots of negi growing right now–5 to 7 per clump to produce small ones, 1 per clump to produce fat ones. I’ll try a fat one and mimic your idea. ;)

    I love the shoji screen prototype! Some Japanese ideas translate perfectly to American spaces, and that’s a great example. Wish we had a huge window to do that with.

    -gaijinfarmer

    • Hi gaijinfarmer,
      I feel lucky to have such a lovely large window! (such a nice ‘new’ house, indeed)
      It’s good that I didn’t realize how exacting the work on the Swedish (Ikea) shoji screen would need to be, but now it’s finally coming together, looking vaguely Japanese. Thanks for the encouragement!

      Wonder if I could grow negi here? Spring is still far off…

  2. I made Curry Udon tonight, although your photos spank mine. Your writing is good too. I like your site. I’ll be back later to crawl over your recipes. Thanks.

  3. Welcome, then. I hope you enjoy my writing / pictures on other posts…

    Japanese curry is great, and I love it for lots of reasons. And if you read much of my blog, then you’ll know I love noodles of all kinds. While I know that there is no perfect marriage (though my own comes close), I’d agree that udon wedded with (soupy) curry comes close. Yes?

    As for the pictures, well, I thank you, but even so: it takes a great artist to express a great love affair and I’ve fallen far below that mark…

    At any rate, the food is good.

    Best wishes,
    Tess

Leave a Reply

