Announcement

After long suffering with Alzheimer’s disease, my father died unexpectedly suddenly last Saturday. Because of a recent diagnosis of an aggressive cancer, all of us siblings had gathered together so we were able to support each other through the initial shock. Our father was not a religious man, so we held no service but being together, eating, telling stories, looking at photographs, hugging was a sort of wake.We’ll have to gather again, in the U.P. to inter our parents’ ashes where they grew up and lived most of their lives. Many of my readers have sent condolences (which have been very much appreciated), but I wanted to let everyone know why I’ve been away for so long.

6 thoughts on “Announcement

  1. Hi Tess,

    Subscribe to your posts and I enjoy your recipes as it is a source of many dishes at home for my kids. they are also the perfect distraction from work.

    I am very sorry to hear about your father. I hope you heal. When my mother passed away a few years back it was really difficult for me but I was very lucky to be by her side when she took her last breath. It took about 2 years to talk about it without tearing. Anyway, when we had our service, we all just cooked, cooked and cooked. It seems that making 25 inari zushi and 50 maki zushi makes a family happy.

    Take care,

    Ken

    • Hi Ken, fellow Michigan-der!
      Thank you for your thoughts. It was so good to have the family together, and food has always been part of our gatherings. I didn’t cook Japanese food because we were busy most days, but made brisket, leg of lamb, a Moroccan chicken stew: things that could sit and cook without much attention. People relax and talk around a table and this was especially a time for sibling bonding.

      My mother-in-law died thirteen years ago, and it was a decade before I’d not feel as though I could just call her on the phone to tell her something interesting. I think that ended when my mother died. One must admit that the losses will be with us for the rest of our lives…

    • Hi Yaelian,
      Thank you. Hugs are appreciated.
      I hesitated about making this announcement in this blog, but I did want regulars to know why I was away…

    • Kathleen,
      I’m grateful for your sympathy.
      There are a lot of emotions now, and I’ll just allow myself to experience them. My brothers gave me a lot of digital pictures and it’s good to look at them.

Leave a Reply

