Shiso Pesto Pasta

https://1tess.wordpress.com
So shiso. It’s been growing well in the messy little vegetable garden here at the new house.
So, this year, yes, I won’t be trying to save it for some special occasion.
Unlike my mother, who saved her silverware for a special occasion which never came. I don’t recall ever eating with those special forks, knives, and spoons!
No, I won’t save this crop of shiso for my “second husband.” We will eat and enjoy the moment now…

Forever – is composed of Nows –
‘Tis not a different time –
Except for Infiniteness –
And Latitude of Home –

~~~Emily Dickinson


Wafu Shiso Pesto Pasta

from: Glutton for Life
about 2 cups

  • 3/4 cup blanched almonds
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 tsp lemon rind
  • ¼ cup lemon juice
  • 3 packed cups stemmed shiso leaves
  • 2/3 cup sesame oil

In a small food processor, combine all the ingredients except the oil and pulse to chop the leaves and nuts. Add the oil in a thin stream until it creates the texture you’re looking for: not too chunky, not too smooth, thinner than peanut butter but not too loose. Taste and add more lemon juice or salt as needed.

5 thoughts on “Shiso Pesto Pasta

  1. Beautiful post! My shiso has done amazingly well this year, too, and I don’t have to parcel it out in small doses. Thanks for reminding me of this recipe. Love the nori garnish!

    • I was very glad to find your recipe. Peter Berley ( The Modern Vegetarian Kitchen) has some interesting and unusual recipes for pestos which made me think of searching for a shiso pesto recipe.

      Nori is nice as a garnish for lots of dishes. It makes a gentle sea scented addition. The black shiny color is striking too.

  2. Love your recipes and your stories …it is a pleasure and I look forward for your mail
    thank you
    My very best
    Simone

    • Simone, I’m happy to hear that you like my blog! This summer has been filled with so many family occasions that have taken me away from real life on the net…
      Maybe that’s good: my siblings and I (and our families) had a rare opportunity to get together even though I have not posted much here. They all teased me about my addiction to wifi connections, but some time away: perhaps some better stories…
      Tess

      fixed the addition to addiction typo

  3. Pingback: Shiso-Almond Pesto Pasta « Tess's Japanese Kitchen

Leave a Reply

