Green Purslane and Cucumber Gazpacho

https://1tess.wordpress.com

Oh the things that summer brings, the lovely verdant world when one can find treasure even in the grass. Icy summer soups make for easy eating when it’s too hot to cook. The original recipe called for lettuce and spinach, but I had to try it with my latest leafy discovery: purslane—it’s not your ordinary weed!
https://1tess.wordpress.com
Purslane and Cucumber Gazpacho

from: Spanish Recipes
Serves: 4 to 6

  • 4 cups (8 oz) purslane, basil and parsley, chopped
  • 3 scallions, diced
  • 2 medium cucumbers, peeled and diced
  • ½ cup (4 fl. oz) sour cream, plus extra to garnish (optional)
  • ½ cup (4 fl. oz) mayonnaise
  • 2 cups (16 fl. oz) water
  • 1 Tablespoon chopped mint leaves
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon white pepper

In a blender, combine the purslane, basil, parsley, scallions, and cucumber until the mixture forms a pureé. Gradually add the water, sour cream, mayonnaise, mint, white pepper, and salt. Pureé the mixture until it reaches an even consistency. Refrigerate the soup until you are ready to serve.
Serve chilled in individual bowls, with a spoonful of sour cream over each serving.


Allow me to suggest a summer Japanese-style chicken recipe to accompany the soup.

5 thoughts on “Green Purslane and Cucumber Gazpacho

  1. Now that it is very hot here I don’t seem to find any purslane,but once it will be available again; I will make this lovely cold soup.Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Interesting that you don’t see it now: it has been very hot here as well. Of course it’s also been humid and there was some rain.

    Just a note, but I’d remove the cucumber seeds. I think the cukes I used were more mature than usual and the seeds did not really pureé as much as I’d have liked.

  3. That looks amazing, and that’s saying something because I’m not a huge veggie eater. How does it taste? Is there a flavor that particularly dominates?

    Oh, and do you happen to cook for every meal? I see that you have a lot of different dishes on here. (I’m definitely using your blog as a reference for some new dinner ideas, by the way.) It’s amazing if you do; I don’t think I could ever have nearly as much discipline or dedication to cook all the time. Haha, though I probably should! I feel like homemade meals always taste better and are healthier anyways.

    • It tasted “herb-y” and smooth—my basil was a bit strong (starting flower buds) so it came through, but the smell of the cukes made it taste like gazpacho.

      No, I don’t cook every meal. And I rarely bake or make sweets. We were away for part of this month (and without internet) and it’s been difficult to get back into cooking! I have two or three other blogs so I’ve been busy trying to catch up with myself.

  4. Pingback: Shiso Watch 2012 « Tess's Japanese Kitchen

Leave a Reply

