Miso Marinated Salmon

https://1tess.wordpress.com
The miso-marinade-for-steak recipe makes enough that I feel bad about throwing out such a nice sauce without one more go. I have re-used it as a marinade for lamb chops, pork, and in this case: salmon.

I had two small pieces of salmon in the freezer. The nice looking piece was purchased during an over-exuberant shopping excursion: the fish behind the counter looked so nice that we bought more than we could eat. The other fish was purchased from my usual (cheaper) store, part of a bag of frozen salmon fillets.When I thawed them, they released a lot of liquid. Still, I lightly salted them in the Japanese way, for about 15 minutes to firm up the flesh, then rinsed and dried them.


1. Spread ½ the marinade in a glass pan & cover with a damp cloth. 2. Arrange the fish in the pan & cover with the cloth. 3. Spread the remaining miso on top. 4. Cover tightly with plastic; refrigerate for several hours.

5. Remove the fish from the marinade. Gently wipe away miso residue from the fish with a paper towel.
yes, that’s steak, but it shows the wrapping technique too.


Note: The remaining miso could be used to make miso soup.
I simply pan fried the salmon, but the fillets could be broiled or grilled. Be careful: miso burns easily.
Ms. Shimbo has two recipes for miso marinated salmon in her book, The Japanese Kitchen. This recipe has a lovely sauce served with the salmon.
To accompany the salmon, I blanched some green beans, then steamed them until tender. I love how that technique keeps the green! I bruised some chopped dill to flavor them, and compliment the fish.


8 thoughts on “Miso Marinated Salmon

    • I put them in boiling salted water just until they turned bright green, then drained them and put them in very cold water. I put a little water in a pot with one of those metal steamer baskets that fits inside, and got it boiling. I dumped the beans in (covered) and went about getting out plates, etc. so I wasn’t paying attention to time. Not long. I checked a few times to see if they were tender—I don’t like tough (crunchy) beans. Sorry I can’t be more specific.

      Dill is nice with green beans, though. Sometimes I muddle the dill with a little olive oil.

    • Yes, it’s nice. And you can use any firm-fleshed fish. I’ve been so busy this summer that cooking has been neglected, but with a little planning ahead this is something very easy to cook.

  1. Gosh I did not know about the salting and washing of fish! And I love the sound of the miso bandaging – semi curing it? Oh and those plums! Colour!!!

    • Miso was used in old Japan to get fish from the ocean to inland towns, so it is a sort of preserving method. These days, I’d rely on refreigeration, but it makes the fish very tasty at any rate.

      Ah, the plums! They are actually some “heritage” tomatoes. They are very sweet but have tough skins. The one plant we have has been prolific, but it’s getting late in the season now so there probably won’t be a lot more. I hope they re-seed and volunteer next year! Really what I should do is to save some of those seeds. Wonder how one goes about that?

  2. Dill looks so pretty cut up like that. I must try that idea for green beans. Your salmon meals look very filling.

    • Yes, dill is pretty cut up or not. It’s a pretty plant in a garden, but from what I’ve read, it is not friendly with lots of other plants you want to grow. It’s like fine green lace. The beans were indeed very nice. So simple that it surprises me that others have commented about them! But you have to like dill if you make them!

Leave a Reply

