Shoyu Ramen

shoyu ramen

Ramen Broth Flavored with Soy Sauce
Shoyu Ramen

serves 4
page 338
Broth and Noodles:

  • 13 ounces dried chukasoba noodles, cooked and drained
  • 4 cups ramen stock, heated—for this I used the lighter clear stock made with chicken
  • 3/4 cup chashu broth
  • 4 teaspoons garlic paste

Toppings:

  • 12 to 20 slices chashu
  • 1 cup menma
  • 2 scallions, green parts only, cut into rings
  • 1 nori sheet, cut into 8 rectangles
  • toban jiang, condiment

Place 4 bowls in a low oven or in hot water to warm them. Have toppings at hand and ready to serve. Into each bowl, put 1 teaspoon of garlic paste and 3 Tablespoons of chashu broth. Divide noodles among the bowls. Add 1 cup of hot ramen stock. Lift and stir the noodles with tongs to mix noodles, flavorings, and broth. Add toppings to each bowl and serve with more garlic paste, toban jiang, and white pepper on the side.

More in this series about ramen:
Ramen Stock:
Homemake Ramen Stock
Ramen Toppings:
garlic paste for ramenmenmachashu

Ramen Recipes:
shoyu ramenshoyu ramenHiyashi Chuka Soba Japanese Summer Ramen

⇐ Previous Post Next Post ⇒
Ramen Toppings: Garlic Paste Miso Garlic Radish Tsukemono

9 thoughts on “Shoyu Ramen

  1. Pingback: Ramen Stock « Tess’s Japanese Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Ramen Toppings: Chashu « Tess’s Japanese Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Ramen Toppings: Menma « Tess’s Japanese Kitchen

  4. Your ramen looks great – the only thing is that it is traditionally served in a larger, deeper bowl for made for noodle soups. The bowls that your ramen is sitting in makes it look more like pasta. Your local Asian shop should sell them for a few bucks each.

    As you know, the broth is equally, if not more important than the noodles and the noodles should be swimming in lots of broth. An excellent ramen shop in Japan will have customers drink all the broth as well as the noodles when finished.

  5. Hi Michelle!

    Thanks for your comment. The ramen IS great. I don’t have noodle restaurants near here, so I made my own ramen. The broth is absolutely key. And a LOT of work, so we appreciate it very much. And then there are different styles of ramen so just 1 is not enough—I’m trying…

    I know what you mean about my bowls. Most of the dishes I use are not “right” for the Japanese cooking I’m doing… It’s not the cost that prevents me from buying new dishes (well, ok, I am a cheapskate), but the space to store things. My house is small, my kitchen is small; I have had a lot of hobbies and cooking phases over the years and it is past time to get rid of old stuff…

    Best wishes. Now I’m hungry!

  6. Hey Tess,

    I just finished your recipe for shoyu ramen today (with a few variances) and it was absolutely delicious.

    I made the stock a little too concentrated i think though as i needed to add some water later on, but other than that it was great.

    Here is how i did mine:

    Stock:

    Chicken wings, thighs,one breast and a leg
    Pork Knuckle and ribs

    The rest i followed your recipe, it came out far too dilute to begin with but then i boiled it down some and added some more kelp then it was ok.

    Chashu, i used Pork Loin instead amazing taste.

    Menma, followed your recipe

    Naruto, well i couldn’t find it but the woman at the oriental store said i could use the Chinese version which is the same but made in ball shapes without the pink dye. Still very tasty.

    Noodles, i used Udon noodles which went very nicely with the dish.

    Overall i think i did pretty well and considering i’m only 16 it was pretty good.

    Look forward to checking out more of your recipes

    • Hi Daryl,
      Sounds to me like you did a very great job of it. And was it not a LOT of work! Believe me, I know.
      The noodles are the hardest to find. I don’t think I’ve found the best chewiest ones yet, but this is definitely edible (mmm!) whatever noodles you use. “Chuka-soba” means Chinese noodles—try different Chinese wheat noodles.
      When I was only 16, I’m sure I’d not been able to make this food!
      Best wishes to you following your heart.

  7. Great recipes Tess, I have the Japanese Kitchen book too and have just cooked up this Ramen recipe. I referenced your blog in my blog post on the subject. I hope you don’t mind, you’ll probably get a few visits coming over from there. Keep up the great cooking.
    Jen

    • Hi Jen,

      I’m so glad you used my blog as a reference for your ramen—especially because it turned out so nicely. Ms. Shimbo’s book is excellent!

Leave a comment