Sweet Corn and Scallops Gyoza

THIS AUTHOR DOES NOT PERMIT “RE-BLOGGING” WITHOUT PRIOR WRITTEN CONSENT.
                                                                                                           
https://1tess.wordpress.com

Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it.
~~Russell Baker

This is a short respite from the sticky heat wave we’ve suffered for the last week or so. Nice cool dry air is coming in through the windows and I can hear birds fussing at each other. The cats are walking around, no longer imitating fur rags draped over the furniture. It’s so much easier to appreciate the gorgeous bounty of summer when I’m not ‘glowing.’
(sorry: “Horses sweat, men perspire, but women merely glow.”)

I have a pound of blueberries in the fridge; when I was in the (air conditioned, innocuous music playing, colorful displays) store, a pint of blueberries cost $1.50, but a whole pound was on sale for $2.00. I know, they say “a pint a pound the world around” (okay, that’s water not berries, and okay it’s no longer ‘the world around’ with those logical grams and kilograms). But for half a dollar more, I bought twice as much (or is it twice as many?).

I also bought a fair-sized container of fresh pineapple, a couple of peacharines (netareaches? I don’t remember, but some cross between nectarines and peaches—there they were: a mountain of soft orange-red-yellow temptresses), four handsome smooth red tomatoes, a prickly cucumber, and a half-dozen apricots. I resisted the avocados.

Have you noticed that most grocery stores have fluorescent light over the meat, fish, snacks, candy, cash registers, but warm incandescent spotlights shine lovingly over the fruits and vegetables? As I was leaving the area, corn popped into my cart: 6 for $1.00; I put it back because I’m not a big fruit and vegetable eater. Well, I kept one ear to make this recipe.

Gyoza filled with Sweet Corn and Scallops
adapted from Videojug
  • ½ pound frozen bay scallops, partially thawed, and chopped
  • ¼ salt
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed and minced
  • ¼ cup tofu (soft silken, but any sort is fine)
  • niblets cut from a small ear of sweet corn
  • ¼ cup red bell pepper, roasted, peeled, and minced
  • ¼ cup (generous) minced green onions
  • 2 Tablespoons finely chopped shiso leaves
  • 1 Tablespoon potato starch or cornstarch
  • 36 – 40 gyoza wrappers

This filling can be processed easily in a small food processor. It’s about 2 cups of filling, but only part of it is whirled ’round the blade.
Put half of the scallops, the salt, and the garlic into your processor. Pulse the motor a few times, then add the tofu. Process until it is well until the mixture is smooth and finely chopped, but not slush. Don’t overblend.
Put the scallop-tofu mixture into a bowl. Stir in the reserved scallops. Add the corn, pepper, onion, shiso, and potato starch. Stir well.
Lay out as many of the gyoza circles on your work-surface as will fit. Paint the edge of each circle with water. Place a tablespoon of filling in the center of each wrapper. Pick one up, fold the circle in half, and pinch the edges at the top together. Pinch and pleat the front edge of the wrapper toward the center. Pinch and pleat two more times on the right, then three times on the left. Repeat with each gyoza, until the filling is used up.
The dumplings can be made 1 day ahead and chilled, covered with plastic wrap. Or frozen.
In a large cast iron or non-stick skillet (with a lid) heat oil over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking. Arrange the gyoza in a single layer, but don’t crowd them. Fry until the bottoms are golden. Add water, cover, and steam gyozas 3 to 4 minutes, or until filling is springy to touch. Remove lid and cook the gyozas until liquid is evaporated and bottoms are re-crisped.

This one’s back to you Indiana man—corn has ears and corn has worms <3
KITCHENOFDISTINCTION3
1 month ago 21
I think this video just sums up the greatness of The Band, 50 year old men in tears & kids of 4 happy, apparently appreciating & clapping. No band comes close.

14 thoughts on “Sweet Corn and Scallops Gyoza

    • There is an element of truth in every idea that lasts long enough to be called corny.
      ~~Irving Berlin

      Me, I love it and love you too.

  1. “But for half a dollar more, I bought twice as much (or is it twice as many?).”

    Not that it matters a great deal, but it’s twice as much.

    Great blog, by the way. . .

    • Thanks Ron!

      Ah, let’s say I went to work yesterday with a container of blueberries but I dropped it and half of them fell all over the floor. Then, as I was stooping to pick them up, I knocked the container off the table, so I had twice as many berries to pick up.

      I guess I'd say there is a reason they don't call me 'Grace.'

      (it was worse than that: I’d poured milk on them before I dropped the container…)

  2. Oh Tess!
    These Gyoza look scrumptious! As soon as I’m done with my move, this will be one of the first dishes that I make to entertain my friends! The shiso will be coming from the plants on my new patio that I’m going to purchase at Anzen Hardware in Little Tokyo. (hee hee)

    • Hey Karla, Just let me know when the party starts: I don’t want to be late.

      I haven’t forgotten about the sesame sauces, but cooking for one—not so much fun. I have some lovely French sweet cherry jam (no high-fructose corn syrup for the French!) and some almond butter. Makes a decent dinner and no mess. LOL

  3. Wow! Your gyoza is impeccable!! And also I’m impressed with your ingredients that I ‘ve never tried. It looks yummy!! My daughter loves corn, so I will add some corns in my gyoza next time! Thanks!

    • Hi naoko—
      Thank you!
      While researching about corn in Japan for several other posts, I came across this recipe. It is unusual—my inspiration recipe was written by a non-Japanese—but it tasted good.
      I’m sure your daughter will enjoy a little corn in your gyoza!

  4. These look fabulous. I’m not sure I dare to attempt to replicate these but am salivating at the idea of that flavour combination.
    Great blog!

    • Hi!
      You are right that these gyoza would not be do-able on a week-night.
      If the flavor combo of corn and scallops is what you like, then let me suggest this fast and tasty soup instead:

      Corn Cream Soup:

Leave a comment