Grilled Miso Marinated Salmon

I’m still on a mission to use up the food in my freezer, and to avoid going to the grocery store. This new mission has forced my creativity and bent my rules for my Japanese cooking project.

macbook pro with dinner

In the freezer, I found a salmon fillet and some bay scallops. The other night, we ate miso marinated lamb chops, and I’ve discovered that the miso marinade can be used a second time. Perhaps marinating red meat after the miso had been used for fish would not be a good idea, but this way ’round worked quite well. Fish should be marinated for a relatively short time, and the bay scallops are even more delicate than fish. I added the scallops to the marinade about 2 hours later than I did the fish.
Now, I realize the sauce recipe calls for spinach, but I had none, so I substituted peas. There were 3 packages of peas in there as well. Yes, I used some for the stir-fried rice with kikurage, but I found another one on a lower shelf! Wonder why I bought so many peas? The peas were an interesting choice: the color was lovely, and the flavor was nice, but I couldn’t purée them as silky smooth as spinach. And the last substitution: Instead of the tama-miso (which I didn’t make), I added a little miso and an egg yolk to the sauce. Oh, and a few bits of sweet red pepper for color in the pictures. Could have used a few more?

Grilled Miso Marinated Salmon with Green Sauce

Below, for my future reference (I do intend to follow my own rules to make the recipes in this book as directed) and for your pleasure is the recipe as written.

Broiled or Grilled Miso Marinated Salmon With Spinach Sauce

Sake no Saikyomiso-zuke Horenso Sosu
Grilled Miso Marinated Salmon with Green Saucepage 371
serves 4

  • 1 1/4 pounds salmon or cod fillets, skinned or not, cut into 4 pieces
  • 5 teaspoons salt
  • 8 ounces Saikyo miso (sweet white miso)
  • 1/4 cup sake (rice wine)
  • 1/4 cup mirin (sweet rice wine)
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 1/4 cup komezu (rice vinegar)
  • 1 Tablespoon minced shallot
  • 3 1/2 ounces spinach leaves, 4 medium leaves reserved
  • Vegetable oil for frying
  • 2 Tablespoons tamamiso (miso-and-egg sauce)
  • 6 to 8 Tablespoons virgin olive oil, to taste

Salt the fish on both sides, and rest it on a steel rack set over the pan, for 1 hour in the refrigerator.
In a medium bowl, soften the miso by stirring in the sake and mirin. Spread one-third of the miso mixture in the bottom of a large pan in which the fish can fit without overlapping. Lay a tightly woven cotton cloth or two layers of cheesecloth over the miso in the pan.
Wipe the salted salmon with a paper towel to remove the salt and the liquid exuded from the fish. Place all the salmon pieces on the cloth in the pan, and cover them with another tightly woven cotton cloth or two layers of cheesecloth.
Spread the remaining miso mixture over the cloth, covering the surface completely. Wrap the entire pan with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for 5 hours.
In a small saucepan, combine the dry white wine, komezu, and shallot. Bring the mixture to a boil over medium heat. Reduce the heat to very low, and cook the mixture until it is reduced to 1 Tablespoon of syrup.
In a large pot of boiling water, parboil the spinach, excluding 4 leaves, 1 to 2 minutes. Cool the spinach in ice water, and drain the spinach well. In a food processor, purée the spinach.
In a skillet, heat 1 inch oil over medium heat to 320°F. One at a time, add the 4 reserved spinach leaves to the oil, and cook them until they are bright green and translucent, 10 to 15 seconds. Transfer the spinach to paper towels to drain.
Lift the top cloth from the salmon, and remove the salmon from the marinade. Discard the marinade, or reserve it to use as a fish marinade one more time within 2 weeks, after heating it through and adding more miso and sake, or for making miso soup. If there is any miso residue on the fish, gently wipe it away with a paper towel. At this point you can refrigerate the fish, in a well-sealed plastic bag, for up to 3 days, or freeze it for a lnoger period.
Heat a broiler or grill, and the broiler pan or grill rack. With a pastry brush, lightly grease the pan or rack. Transfer the salmon to the pan or rack and cook the salmon, turning once, until both sides are light golden. A 1-inch thick salmon steak needs about 8 minutes total cooking time. Marinated fish burns easily, so you may need to cover the fish with aluminum foil as it cooks.
In a small saucepan, combine the miso-egg-sauce with the reduced vinegar-wine syrup. Place the saucepan over low heat, and cook until the mixture is heated through. Transfer the mixture to a medium bowl, and add the spinach purée. Little by little, whisk in the olive oil. Serve the salmon with the spinach sauce underneath and garnished with the fried spinach leaves.

Grilled Miso Marinated Salmon with Green Sauce

⇐ Previous Post Next Post ⇒
Cold, again Okonomiyaki, with scallops and chicken
12 thoughts on “Grilled Miso Marinated Salmon

  1. Hi! (And sorry, comment absolutely irrelevant to the post!)

    “how much I love to have comments”

    Ah I’ve been wanting to tell you that… I visit very few blogs, and comment in even fewer. Of all the people in the forum, you are the only one I feel I’d like to be in touch with this way; I’ve visited your blog several times, but I cannot possibly write anything on your subject!…

    “I’ve tried to get my husband to comment”

    If it’s any consolation, my girlfriend enjoys playing around in Facebook (while I hate Facebook) and won’t have anything to do with blogs. Well she reads my regular blog, as well as another one in which I occasionally contribute, but that’s just about it. My new blog is an absolute no-no, of course, as she doesn’t understand a thing. But we recently found a common point: we discovered I can customize her page in My Space using html!

    • Then,
      “I bear a charmed life.”
      you being such a private person—(for my part) Greek to me.

      Oh, my husband reads my blog and corrects the typos which I occasionally remember to fix. As to Facebook—I have a page because my daughter and my husband thought it necessary, but I don’t understand what use it is. I’ll bet your girlfriend has the most beautiful page on My Space.

      As to irrelevant, I’m beginning to think that there is more to life than “Japanese cooking…”

  2. “you being such a private person”

    Would you care to explain that?

    “I don’t understand what use it is”

    A year ago a friend asked me to sign in to Facebook as a friend. I did. And all I saw was stupid notices such as “V is playing this puzzle” or “V is moving his furniture”. I said, boy, I thought we’re grown-ups, and deleted the f… Facebook account. But I recently opened an account again, because my girlfriend wanted me to be there among her friends. Can’t help it: if She wants, I do.

    “I’ll bet your girlfriend has the most beautiful page on My Space”

    Not yet, not yet…

    And I’ll bet you’re an unbelievably kind-hearted person.

    “there is more to life than Japanese cooking”

    When I first visited your blog I hoped I’d see something on Shakespeare, damn it, or literature or poetry or whatever! That I could deal with – cooking I cannot!

    • Aw, no offense meant. I suspect many of the forum people find you private because you have no link to your blog. I thought you were quite mysterious. Outside of off-topic, most people don’t talk much about themselves.
      About FaceBook, that’s how I got on it ,too—for love. Trouble is, I can never remember how to find it. “Friends” there are mostly family, but my husband said that he had to explain who I was ’cause I signed up as Tess, and they don’t know my nickname, I guess.
      Kind-hearted? ask someone when I’m in a temper!
      What a disappointment that there is very little Shakespeare here! (”O, had I but followed the arts!”) There was a story/play on BBC radio a few weeks ago about Anne Hathaway and “Shakespeare’s Second Best Bed” that you would have enjoyed. They only let people listen for a week, so I doubt you’ll be able to listen now, though.

  3. Quite mysterious? Ha! (But I didn’t come here to keep on talking about myself.)

    Temper? Seems quite reasonable to me: if you are compassionate, you must be passionate too!

    As for poetry, ah, I remember a relevant post of yours. Hadn’t dare comment when I first read it… Will do now, hehe!

    • Yes, the sauce is interesting. The odd thing is, Ms. Shimbo has two recipes in her book, both with miso-marinated salmon and spinach sauce. In the one I haven’t made yet, the sauce is served over the fish. Perhaps this is a regional specialty?
      My addition of the scallops turned out surprisingly well.

  4. hello,your Grilled Miso Marinated Salmon is so cool,i really like it very much. I am a chinese food amateur and like cooking the dish myself,I’ll try it,I hope I could cook this dish as yours,thanks for sharing again.

  5. Pingback: Miso Marinated Salmon « Tess's Japanese Kitchen

Leave a Reply

