Oysters So-Men Love

Who loves oysters?

Who doesn’t!

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

My new love is oysters: Until recently, I never ate them (except for canned and smoked), but if I could I would now seek out my new paramour in cities, towns, villages… on coasts around the world, then the world would be (so to speak) my oyster. Mine is a case of oyster tastes on a tilapia budget so I must content myself with the oysters I can buy at my local grocery store.
The ugly, delectable, addictive little beasts!

“He was a bold man that first eat an oyster.”
~Jonathan Swift
I still dearly love my noodles, so for a meal of utmost indulgence I determined to combine the two. One of my favorite summer summer meals is hyashi chuka soba, which combines noodles with vegetables and meat and a light chicken stock flavored with soy sauce, mirin, rice vinegar, sesame oil and ginger.
Oysters are delicately sweet but sesame oil, ginger, and soy sauce are strong dark flavors. Instead I reserved the liquid the oysters came with, made a very light dashi, added a spoonful of sweet miso, and used sweet corn, sweet peas, and tender spring onions.
I first made this meal for me alone: Mr. Tess was working out of town to keep the roof over our heads. Having enjoyed it so much myself, I prepared it especially for him when he returned.(Whether it is the distance, or the oysters,
which makes the heart grow fonder,
—I cannot say.)
Oysters with Somen and Vegetables
serves 2
(or 3 to 4 if you are not greedy)
Broth

  • ¼ cup mirin (sweet cooking wine)
  • 1 ½ cup dashi
  • ½ Tablespoons komezu (rice vinegar)
  • strained liquid from the oysters
  • 1 Tablespoon sweet miso

Combine the above ingredients, except the miso in a pot large enough for the oysters and vegetables.

Toppings

  • ½ ear of corn, kernels cut from the cob
  • 2 or 3 mini sweet red and orange peppers (optional),
    sliced into 1-inch pieces and lightly stir-fried
  • 16 to 18 sugar snap peas, strings pulled off and blanched
  • 4 spring onions, whites cut into 1-inch pieces,
    greens sliced into fine rings
  • 2 8-ounce jars of oysters, drained (reserve liquid), and washed
Noodles

  • 2 bundles of somen (thin wheat Japanese noodles)
  • a pot of boiling water
  • a bowl, colander, and cold water to rinse the somen

Cook the somen according to package directions. Rinse well, several times in cold water.
Arrange small bundles of swirled noodles in serving bowls so diners can easily use chopsticks to pick up portions of somen easily.

Cooking
Bring the broth to a boil, then reduce heat to simmer. Add the corn and cook for 5 minutes. Add the sweet peppers, peas, white onion slices, and washed oysters. Simmer for 5 minutes. Stir in the spoonful of sweet miso. Chill in the freezer.
Serving
Pour the chilled broth over the noodle bundles. (Deep bowls make it easier to sip the broth; if you use shallow rimmed bowls, provide a spoon.)
Divide the oysters among the bowls, arrange the pea pods attractively, and top with the remaining vegetables and green onions.
“As I ate the oysters with their strong taste of the sea and their faint metallic taste that the cold white wine washed away, leaving only the sea taste and the succulent texture, and as I drank their cold liquid from each shell and washed it down with the crisp taste of the wine, I lost the empty feeling and began to be happy and to make plans.”
― Ernest Hemingway, A Moveable Feast
16 thoughts on “Oysters So-Men Love

    • Yes, you can see that Mikey is concentrating on Hemingway’s “strong [fresh scent] of the sea!”
      I’m sure he “…lost the empty feeling and began to be happy” but whether he began to make plans, I remain doubtful. LOL

  1. Hunh! Can’t believe I never took that word apart. Definitely sounds more exciting than “husband.”

  2. Hi Tess,
    Wonderful colorful web page. Must try the recipes. Tried to respond to your informative answer to my forum ? to thank you.
    At 85 I think I was a bit premature with my clicks and don’t know if you got my thank you. Here it is twice over.
    Bridie 83.

    • Hi Bridie 83,
      You are a sweetheart! I needed some cheering up tonight. I’m glad that an answer of mine in the wp forums helped, and I am extra happy that you took the trouble to look me up to let me know.
      My sister is in a hospital tonight, so I am feeling rather useless. Thank you for your comment.

      • Hi Tess,
        For me, it did take some effort to get to you – it was all worthwhile.
        Let your sister be well – have some useful thoughts about her. Perhaps the observations might help?
        Take care,

        Bridie 83.

          • Hi Tess,
            What a lovely presentation your family dinner party. You must have the patience of a saint!
            Passed on your web page to my son in New Zealand, His wife loves Japanese cooking.Should mention that I now live in sunny Australia having left Scotland to emigrate to New Zealand in 1958 (too cold), We then moved to Australia some twenty years ago following the sun.
            Have i done the right thing posting the blog question above to you?

            Bridie83.

  3. Hi Tess,
    You paid attention! Have some technical questions about my static blog (re Facebook). Who can help?
    Oh! Those mouth watering recipes. An old Scotsman tied to my porridge and occasional haggis, yours is a new world Tess. ‘Lang may your lum reek’ .
    Keep up caring for your sister.
    Bridie 83.

    • Hi bridie83,

      Darling! I love my imaginings of a porridge tied in haggis–but, well, any sausage sounds tasty. Oh, and served with “neeps and tatties.” Something I’ve not had the pleasure of tasting yet! If only I could travel the world—Scotland! but in summer only (too dark this time or year for me). Daughter bought both turnips and baby potatoes today at our local Farmers’ Market and she thinks a soup will make our dinner soon.

      As for your technical question, I’d be most happy to help. I have learned a lot more than I knew about Facebook recently because I had to for my job. But keep in mind that I’m a volunteer on the WordPress.com forums. The most effective way for us volunteers to help as many folks as possible is for the questions and answers to be posted there, in public, where everyone can read them. You should post your question there. We volunteers are all very friendly and helpful.

      • Hi Tess,
        On the advice of Word Press I linked up to Facebook and Twitter for traffic. Seem to have an awful lot of Emails from Facebook but don’t know if they come via my blog or just that I am a member. How to tell and what to do?
        Blog is not designed for conversation but comments are welcome, and if anything is misunderstood I will remove or alter it. Could not possibly reply to all facebook Emails.
        Dare I tell you to put carrots in the broth?

        Bridie 83.
        PS. That I have got this far is amazing.

        • I have a Facebook account, but I don’t “get” it. My daughter tells me that I should not have un-friended everyone, but I didn’t want to do anything with the account. And I have to maintain and update the Facebook for work: that one sends a lot of emails! But I use my work email and my work identity so it doesn’t really mix into my real life.

          Carrots? hmm. They would add more color. If I recall correctly I didn’t have any at the time.

          • Hi Tess,
            Thank you for the info on Facebook. Follow the same Email discipline between my blog and Facebook to retain an ageing identity.
            Have just discovered that carrots don’t keep too long in a plastic bag – just as well!!

Leave a Reply

